On Tuesday, 24 January 2017 we were advised that The Hon. Gladys Berejiklian MP was sworn in as Premier of New South Wales causing a shock to the state of New South Wales due to the retirement of Mike Baird.

Upon unveiling the new cabinet line-up in Queanbeyan on Sunday 29th January, Berejiklian announced New South Wales will get its first ever minister for counter terrorism in a cabinet reshuffle, one minister whom you may be familiar with - Minister David Elliott. Berejiklian MP had informed us that the said position had been created “Unfortunately due to the circumstances our world is in".

Corrections Minister David Elliott has provided a statement shortly after obtaining such opportunity stating “I am delighted with the promotion to the new Counter-Terrorism portfolio and I accept that it is a significant responsibility”, he also advised listeners that over the coming weeks he will be meeting with stakeholders to ensure appropriate preparation for any contingency.

As we look at the front bench of seven new faces said to be “A mix of experience and fresh new blood”, this brings attention to our new portfolio of Penrith Stuart Ayres MP.

Stuart Ayres lost trade, tourism and major events and yet was promoted to become
Minister for Western Sydney, Minister for WestConnex and Minister for Sport.

However, Minister David Elliot and Stuart Ayres MP were not the only ones to be reshuffled into new and improved roles.

Other positions in the reshuffle include:

The Hon Victor Dominello has been promoted to Minister for Finance, Services and Property.

The Hon Matt Kean MP has entered Cabinet as Minister for Innovation and Better Regulation.

The Hon. Rob Stokes MP has been promoted to Minister for Education.

The Hon. Anthony Roberts MP has been appointed as Minister for Planning, Minister for Housing and Special Minister of State.

The Hon. John Barilaro, Deputy Premier and Leader of the Nationals, has added Minister for Regional New South Wales to his responsibilities as Minister for Skills and Minister for Small Business.

The Hon. Dominic Perrottet MP has been promoted to Treasurer.

The Hon. Niall Blair MLC has taken on the role of Minister for Trade and Industry.

The Hon. Don Harwin MLC has been promoted to Minister for Resources, Minister for Energy and Utilities and Minister for the Arts and is Vice President of the Executive Council.

The Hon Brad Hazzard MP will take over as Minister for Health and Minister for Medical Research following the resignation of the Hon Jillian Skinner on 27 January 2017 as the former Minister and Member for North Shore.

The Hon Stuart Ayres MP has been promoted to Minister for Western Sydney, Minister for WestConnex and Minister for Sport.

The Hon. Pru Goward MP will return as Minister for Family and Community Services, with responsibilities as Minister for Social Housing and continuing as Minister for the Prevention of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault.

The Hon Mark Speakman MP has been appointed Attorney General.

The Hon Paul Toole MP will now take the roles of Minister for Lands and Forestry and Minister for Racing.

The Hon Adam Marshall MP enters Cabinet as Minister for Tourism and Major Events and Assistant Minister for Skills.

The Hon. Gabrielle Upton MP will now take on the role of Minister for the Environment, Minister for Local Government and Minister for Heritage 2.

The Hon Tanya Davies MP enters Cabinet having been appointed Minister for Mental Health, Minster for Women and Minister for Ageing.

The Hon. Sarah Mitchell MP has been appointed as the Minister for Early Childhood Education, Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, and Assistant Minister for Education. 


Newsletter Sign Up